Calaveras Local Agency Formation Commission

January 26, 2021

TO:

All Independent Special District Board Chairpersons

FROM:

John Benoit, Executive Officer

SUBJECT:

EXTENDED TIME Ballot for Independent Special District

Representatives on LAFCO

Dear Independent Special District Board Chair.

On November 16, 2020 a ballot was mailed and/or emailed to the 42 independent special districts in Calaveras County. To have a quorum of independent special districts, at least 50% must return a ballot to LAFCo, which means LAFCo must receive at least 21 returned votes. LAFCo received only 9 votes.

Independent Special District Representatives to be seated on LAFCO are elected by the presiding officers (chair) of each Independent Special District, not the full Board of Directors.

VOTE for two: The two persons receiving the most number of votes will be seated on LAFCO to the 4-year Independent Special District regular member term of office, and the person receiving the third most number of votes will receive the 4-year alternate seat. In the event of a tie, there will be a coin toss.

Please **vote for two**. Please be sure to sign, date and either mail your ballot to Calaveras LAFCO, c/o John Benoit, P.O. Box 2694, Granite Bay, California 95746 or by email to <u>i.benoit4@icloud.com</u>. Ballots must be received by **April 1, 2021**. Any ballots received after that date or received unsigned will not be counted.

If you have any questions, you may call me at (707) 592-7528 (cell) or (209) 754-6511, or email me at j.benoit4@icloud.com.

Calaveras Local Agency Formation Commission

****Official Ballot**** Independent Special District Election

January 26, 2021

Instructions to Voters (District Presiding Officers or Chair)

Indica	te the name of your (listrict in the space provided below:	
Name	of the Board of Direc	tor's Presiding Officer (or) Chair:	
Name:		Date:	
Signature:		Phone #:	
EMAIL	_ address:	**************************************	
		re the name of the nominee you want to represent ts on the Local Agency Formation Commission: Vote fo	
	Tony Tyrell	Incumbent, Angels Camp Veterans Memorial District	
	John Lavaroni	Incumbent, Calaveras Public Utility District	
	Jon Dashner	Ebbits Pass Fire Protection District	
	Debra Sellick	Mark Twain Healthcare District	
	_ Travis J. Owens	Murphys Sanitary District	
	Kirk W. Smith	West Point Fire Protection District	
Ballot	must be received by	April 1, 2021 . Mail to:	
		Calaveras Local Agency Formation Commission c/o John Benoit	

Or by Email: at <u>j.benoit4@icloud.com</u>

*** BALLOTS MUST BE RECEIVED BY April 1, 2021***
ANY BALLOT RECEIVED LATE OR UNSIGNED WILL NOT BE COUNTED.

Granite Bay, CA 95746